Warren Beatty and Faye Dunaway to be Best Picture presenters at Oscars 2018

Warren Beatty and Faye Dunaway have been once again given the responsibility for presenting Best Picture at the 2018 Academy Awards despite the unfortunate incident last year.

The 2017 Oscars will be an unforgettable movie events because of the incident of announcing the wrong winner of Best Picture. Warren Beatty and Faye Dunaway were given the wrong envelope and announced La La Land as the winner of the night's top prize instead of real Best Picture winner Moonlight. The entire crew of the dance drama went on stage to thank, and in about two minutes, the whole world thought La La Land was the winner. However, the real golden statue owner is Moonlight, and this is an unprecedented incident in the history of the Oscars. 

Warren Beatty and Faye Dunaway infamously announced La La Land, instead of the actual winner, Moonlight at the Oscars in 2017.

According to the TMZ website, the two stars of the classic movie Bonnie & Clyde (1967) will continue to take the responsibility to present at the Oscars 2018. It seems that The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences wants to give Warren Beatty and Faye Dunaway the opportunity to "correct" their mistake after what happened. 

In fact, the incident of misreading Best Picture winner’s name at the Oscars 2017 did not come from Beatty or Clyde. They misread because the representative of the Accountancy Firm PricewaterhouseCoopers gave the wrong envelope to them. 

However, it was not the two celebs’ fault. 

Shortly after Moonlight celebrated the victory, Warren Beatty used the microphone to explain on stage, “ I want to tell you what happened. I opened the envelope and it said Emma Stone- La la Land. That is why I took a long look at Faye and at you. I wasn’t trying to be funny. This is Moonlight the Best Picture." 

In the moment that Warren Beatty felt confused, Faye Dunaway  quickly read "La La Land". The biggest responsibility, however, would have been for PricewaterhouseCoopers because their staff were not concentrating, but taking selfie in the stage wings and thus giving the wrong envelope to two of the top stars. 

This year's nine nominations in the Best Picture category include Call Me By Your Name, Darkest Hour, Dunkirk, Lady Bird, The Phantom Thread, The Post, The Shape of Water, Three Billboards Outside Ebbing and Missouri. 

Other confirmed presenters during this year’s telecast include Sandra Bullock, Lupita Nyong’o, Emily Blunt, Armie Hammer, Tiffany Haddish, Jodie Foster and Gal Gadot, while the ceremony will again be hosted by Jimmy Kimmel. Guillermo del Toro’s 60s-set romantic fantasy The Shape of Water leads the way with 13 nominations. 

By: Christina Baker

Entertainment | Fashion | Beauty | Health | Travel | Food | Lifestyle | Auto | Cloud Computing | Videos | Jokes



Cloud Computing